1st Annual WWNA Apply Awards

Are you applying your anthropological skills, insights and experiences to make the world a better place?   

At this year’s Why the World Needs Anthropologists conference, we will celebrate change-makers who are creating movements across the globe: those who inspire us to roll up our sleeves and take action.

The annual WWNA Apply Awards recognizes outstanding achievement in translating anthropological knowledge into action as reflected in a single project or specific endeavour. This year we specifically focus on the value of applying anthropology to create sustainable and liveable futures. 

​The ceremony will be hosted in Prague at WWNA 2021.​

Types of Awards

The WWNA Apply Awards consist of two categories, one specific to the theme of the annual conference; and a general applied anthropology award. 

In each category, the international Jury will award three applicants.

Selected applicants will receive an award made by the Czech Grand Design nominee Jiří Krejčiřík: jirikrejcirik.com

WWNA Apply Award judges can assign “Special Mention” according to their consideration.

In addition to showcasing your work (media, social media) and winning an artefact by multidisciplinary designer, as the pioneering award winner, you will become the founding member of Apply Awards Alumni community.

The Annual Apply Award

This award is open to any activity or project that applies anthropology in its work and has an impact in society. 

The Annual Apply Award is intentionally envisioned broadly and aims to include any project that demonstrates anthropological principles, practices or insights. All applied projects that translate anthropological knowledge into action can apply. The application will be assessed under the same criteria as this year’s Social Movements Award (see below). The judges will evaluate anthropological relevance, innovation, originality and impact.

The Social Movements Award

At the “Mobilizing the Planet” conference, we will address social movements that tackle challenging global issues. 

We seek applicants who are creating alternative spaces based on cooperation, inspiration and mutual learning towards socio-cultural transformation across the globe. 

This award is open to any activity or project that applies anthropology to promote just and sustainable action. The initiatives may challenge and provide solutions for overcoming segregation, inequality, polarisation, pollution, exploitative resource use, and the collapse of our democratic institutions and of our geosphere. 

Eligibility and General Specifications

  • Both Awards welcome different disciplinary backgrounds.
  • Entries are open to everyone; you do not have to be an EASA member.
  • The competition is open to individuals, organisations or companies.
  • The application can be a single project, or the action of an organisation or company. 
  • Applications can be interdisciplinary but need to show their anthropological value by demonstrating anthropological principles, practices or insights.
  • At the time of submission, projects may be ongoing. However, no more than 2 years should have passed between the project conclusion and the award entry receipt.
  • The Apply Awards ceremony will be hosted in Prague at WWNA 2021 (10-12 September).

Expert Jury

All entries will be evaluated by an expert jury. The decisions of the four voluntarily-participating jury members are final. 

In the first year of WWNA Apply Awards, the jury was nominated by the main coordinators, Ferne Edwards and Roos Gerritsen, who will preside the meetings:

  • Dr Ferne Edwards, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, EASA Applied Anthropology Network
  • Dr Roos Gerritsen, Ueber den Tellerrand, EASA Applied Anthropology Network
  • Dr Miia Halme-Tuomisaari, Senior Lecturer in Human Rights Studies at Lund University​
  • Dr Gemma John, Human City

Contingency Plan

Given the circumstances, we highlight our contingency plan i.e. if it is acceptable to travel to Prague or if one decides rather not to travel. In that case, we will create an online festive award environment as a replacement.

Ferne Edwards and Roos Gerritsen

WWNA Apply Awards coordinators